Art Miramontes blog

Making Kids Feel Important – “Like Rock Stars”

Posted on: December 12, 2010

In the last two months, my son Arturo and I have been promoting our new children’s book, There’s An Elephant In My Bathtub.  Part of our promotional efforts is to visit Elementary schools to share our story, but more importantly to inspire and motivate the kids to be the best they can be.  One of the most gratifying things so far has been the attention that we have received from the students, teachers and educators.    I did not realize the impact my son and I have been making with the kids until I saw one student today.  He was so excited to meet us in person again, as I saw his eyes light up.   My son and I immediately re-enforced that excitement by making him feel even more special than the first time.

One of our objectives when we present to the kids is to satisfy one of their basic needs – “the need to make them feel important”.  We focus on delivering the message that the presentations are not about what we have done, but how great they can be.   We have presented to over 10,000 students, teachers, community groups/leaders, and others in the last (2) months, and have done one thing consistently that has made a significant impact – make them feel like the most important person on this earth.  It is amazing to see how making someone feel like “a rock star” can go a long way.  It doesn’t take a lot of effort, but it does take being genuine.

Make someone feel like a rock star this week….and write back to me.  How did it feel for you?  More importantly, how do you think it felt for them?

I would love to hear from you….

Leave a Reply

