Art Miramontes blog

Respect Your Children – As They Will Do As You Do…

Posted on: December 17, 2010

Respecting your children is another key to satisfying their basic needs.  One thing I have noticed as my kids continue to grow and mature is how they start to emulate their parents.  At first, I did not believe this myth.  I remember my family members saying, “Your kids are going to be just like you someday….” (I think we have all heard that I’m sure).  Wow, they couldn’t be any more correct!  And now, I’m proud of it.

As a parent, one thing I am still working on is to respect my kids even more so.  So, what am I doing differently?  For starters – listening more.  I am becoming more patient and listening to them because they have a lot to say.  It is amazing to hear them when you stop to LISTEN to them.  Not hear them, but LISTEN.   I marvel at my son Andres who is 9 years old, and how his vocabulary has expanded, and how imaginative he has become.   We, as parents, need to listen more and talk less; we need to be less directive and more suggestive; and, continue to emphasis those courteous phrases that will carry them through adulthood, like “thank you”, “please” and “I’m sorry”.   We need to cultivate those basic family values that will lead our kids to become role models and develop those respectful behaviors that will eventually be passed onto their children.  

So, the next time your child wants to talk…stop, respect and LISTEN.  The time you spend with them is an investment in developing them to learn the value of being respected, and being respectful.    Comments?

4 Responses to "Respect Your Children – As They Will Do As You Do…"

I keep hearing this advice over and over again: We need to listen and be present. Stop, turn things off, and focus. They deserve it and I bet we might be surprised what we learn. My kids are only 3 and 2 (3 yr old daughter and 2 yr old twin boys). I get amazed how fun it is to be swept into their worlds. They’re both smaller (vocab and experience) and larger (unending imagination and hope) than ours are.

Thank you for the reply. Agreed. I love diving into their world, and treating them with all the respect in the world. This will re-enforce those good behaviors that will help them develop and mature into good citizens. I have (3) boys – 20, 15, and 9….and all role models in their school/classes. As we (parents) continue to set the example, they will follow. Thanks again for the comments, and following me. More to come! Happy holidays! Art

I agree!! Not only can we learn so much from children, but we can honor them and build thie confidence by valuing their ideas. I think about this all the time. My daughters are under three, so it’s nice to hear this persecutive from someone who’s more of a parenting veteran.

Thank you for the response. You are absolutely right. Building confidence and valuing what they have to say is key. Sounds like you are headed in the right direction with your daughters. Good for you! Thanks for following. More to come! Happy Holidays, Art.

Leave a Reply

